Key info at a glance

  • The digital information twin, or DIT for short, integrates product information into a single virtual location and makes it available to the relevant stakeholders.  
  • The DIT keeps service-relevant data synchronized and up to date. 
  • A DIT simplifies the work of service technicians, service engineers, aftersales managers, and maintenance staff. 
  • Digital twins are essential if you want to enjoy the advantages of Industry 4.0 – including predictive maintenance. 
  • In order to benefit from the digital information twin, manufacturers need corresponding software solutions. 

What does digital information twin mean?

”Digital information twin” (DIT) is a buzzword that plant and machinery manufacturers would do well to remember – after all, the future of maintenance, aftersales, and service belongs to it. But what does it actually mean? And what makes the DIT different to a digital twin?

 

Definition of digital information twin 

The DIT is a central platform where technical information and service information about a product, machine, or plant is stored. The data in the DIT are bundled and synchronous, resulting in an integrated information management system that fulfills different functions.

The System:

  • Displaying the real status of the product after the sale and in use 
     
  • Putting the spotlight on the entire product's life cycle 
     
  • Serving as a lifecycle record for a product or machine 
     
  • Containing information about spare parts, documentation, and manuals for a certain machine or variant 
     
  • Making all the information you need quickly accessible 

Distinction from the digital twin

The digital information twin is not to be confused with the digital twin or digital engineering twin. Although both twins represent a virtual model of a real object, they differ in terms of the benefits they offer. 

 

In contrast with the digital engineering twin, the DIT does not simulate any product properties or functions. Instead, it contains comprehensive (service) information. This includes user manuals, service instructions, and spare parts lists. The information is product-specific and stored individually. It reflects the actual configuration of a product or machine.  

The intention of a DIT is to provide users with a comprehensive, digital understanding of products, machines, and plant with the help of saved product documents. This makes it a must-have for aftersales & service departments by providing valuable information for targeted and efficient maintenance and service tasks. 

The engineering twin enables the real-time exchange of digital information between machines via the IoT. In contrast to this, an information twin provides valuable and varied data for people. This results in a detailed image of a machine, which service technicians and aftersales managers, for instance, can use as a basis to make well-informed decisions

Who benefits from the DIT?

Those who stand to benefit most from a DIT are manufacturers and operators of machines and plant that have to prepare and supply complex and extensive information about their products. This is because they are currently facing significant challenges: 

  • High level of manual effort involved in creating and supplying spare parts catalogs and documentation in aftersales & service 
  • High costs due to incorrect operation or as a result of misidentification of spare parts because relevant information is not universally available 
  • High workload for IT departments, which delays the introduction of new software solutions  
  • Strict requirements for the skill level of employees since lots of information is dispersed across different systems such as ERP, CAD, CRM, and PLM

Free DIT white paper

Why manufacturers need the digital information twin

Definition, setup and implementation of a DIT in after-sales service

Download white paper

Which goals can companies achieve with a DIT?

With a digital information twin, companies can tackle these and similar challenges with ease. Manufacturers that use a DIT to integrate their service information enjoy a range of benefits:

  • Significant cost savings due to reduced downtime, research time, and waiting times  
  • More time for core business because there is no need to waste time searching for the necessary information 
  • Increased customer satisfaction due to a high first time fix rate 
  • Minimal effort involved in digitalizing service processes 
  • 24/7-provision of tailored information for partners and customers domestically and internationally
  • Better understanding of service figures 
  • Comprehensive information base for optimizations in aftersales & service 
  • Basis for developing new, customer-focused services and therefore greater competitiveness  
  • Improved profitability and higher turnover in aftersales and service through optimized spare parts business 

What are the benefits of a digital information twin for aftersales & service?

Service engineers, service technicians, aftersales managers, maintenance staff, and other DIT users no longer have to tediously look for spare parts information and maintenance manuals. Instead, the DIT platform provides an intuitive user interface that makes all the information for their maintenance tasks quickly accessible in digital form.  

With a digital information twin, machinery manufacturers generate an intelligent data model of their machines and plant. Not only are data displayed virtually, but they are also prepared and integrated in such a way that creates real added value for the user. 

The digital information twin serves as a service information system, which keeps field service engineers informed of changes to work processes. With the help of manuals, it also makes it possible to estimate how long the maintenance work and machine downtime will last. 

A digital information twin makes companies fit for the future 

The linking of a DIT with artificial intelligence (AI) creates potential for additional benefits in the future: 

  • AI is able to predict impending component malfunctions, such as the valves in a customer's plant, in good time.  
  • It also detects that additional valves of the same type and with a similar service life are installed in the plant.  
  • The system can make suggestions to the service technician and aftersales manager based on this information and offer the customer the corresponding spare parts in advance. 

The benefits of a digital information twin at a glance

  • Increase the efficiency of their service and maintenance processes, including via predictive maintenance 
  • Reduce the overall costs of their service and product life cycle management 
  • Maintain a better overview and a comprehensive understanding of machines, plant, and products 
  • Boost the exchange of data and insights between their departments

In terms of everyday working life in aftersales & service, the DIT offers the following benefits:

  • Efficient data management: If documentation needs to be adjusted, this can be updated as a package and downloaded automatically to all machine locations. 

  • Efficient fleet management: For companies that offer services for vehicle fleets, central data access at fleet level reduces the effort involved in manual data capture, in turn boosting mobility and enabling automated reporting. 

  • Lower maintenance costs: Remote maintenance and predictive maintenance enable forward planning of service capacities and reduce travel costs for service personnel. 

  • Higher reliability: The more forward-looking and precise planning of maintenance and servicing can be, the faster machines and plant can be put into operation again, reducing non-scheduled downtime. 

  • Fewer repairs: 24/7 remote maintenance reduces the number of essential repairs and gives service experts more time to offer their customers first-class service and help them to achieve better results. 

How do companies use the digital information twin?

Prerequisites for using a DIT include one platform as a “core infrastructure”, in other words as a single source of truth, for all service data and connected applications. These so-called capabilities comprise tools that can be used to create, manage, and exploit data and connections. For plant and machinery manufacturers, these include documentation systems, spare parts catalog generators, online stores, and customer platforms.

With the right software, companies can secure high Digital Twin performance. They can lay the foundations for this today by digitalizing their processes and aggregating service-relevant information into a central system.  

The foundations for a digital information twin 

  • Integrated data processing 
  • Consistent master data 
  • Comprehensive data structures and sufficiently large quantities of data 
  • Meaningful data models 
  • Smart integration of all information 
  • Central system with flexible interfaces for the aggregation of data and information

Quanos Service Solutions offers all the necessary tools to implement a digital information twin. Professional software solutions unlock the potential of technical information and give plant and machinery manufacturers complete control over their content.

Do you already know our Quanos InfoTwin?

No?

Then please be sure to follow this way

What makes a DIT worth using?

Not only does the digital information twin save companies time and money, but it also optimizes their service processes. It is also the solution for the biggest trends in aftersales & service: 

  • Service digitalization: At every stage of digitalization, plant and machinery manufacturers need the right tools – from digital spare parts catalogs right through to the digital information twin. As a result, complete service digitalization is possible only with a DIT. 
  • Service 4.0: The evolution from analog service towards Service 4.0 demands digital business models. The sale of machines and plant is moving into the background – the focus is now on their performance. With the digital information twin, machinery manufacturers can guarantee the performance of their products. 
  • Increasing customer expectations: Plant operators are more sensitive to cost than ever – and they expect fast, tailored service. To meet these expectations, support and service employees need an intelligent, digital platform that provides them with the information to do so. 
  • Digital transformation: The digital revolution poses unique challenges for maintenance and servicing. The IoT provides valuable data for optimized service – however, these first need to be centrally bundled and evaluated. The digital information twin makes light work of this task. 
  • Demographic change: Society is getting older and older, which also means that companies are losing more and more knowledge. Solutions such as the DIT are required to safeguard the expertise of service experts for subsequent generations of technicians. 

Keep your finger on the pulse

Conclusion: Lay the foundations for future success today with the DIT

Plant and machinery manufacturers are prepared for all these developments and more with Quanos – and at every stage of digitalization at that. Quanos offers modular functions which, when used as a bundle, create a 360° solution for all the challenges of a modern service setup. By contrast, individual features take a targeted approach to resolve acute problems in the early stages of the transformation.  

It does not matter whether you already use a digital information twin or whether you want to start by digitalizing individual areas of your aftersales operation. Either way, you will receive a future-proof single source of truth that is flexible and upward compatible.

Here is a summary of the benefits offered by Quanos:  

  • Cost reduction thanks to the automatic import and integration of relevant data 
  • Time savings upon implementation thanks to the option of using the solution as an SaaS model in the Quanos Cloud 
  • Easy implementation of service activities as a result of access to all the necessary information 
  • Find all the information you need in just a few clicks 
  • High data security thanks to individual access control for individual users

Do you have any questions about the digital information twin?

We use our knowledge to assist you and support the transformation of your service information into a digital information twin.

Contact us

Das Wichtigste auf einen Blick 

  • Der Digital Information Twin, kurz DIT, vernetzt Produktinformationen virtuell an einem Ort und stellt diese den relevanten Stakeholdern bereit.  
  • Servicerelevante Daten bleiben mit dem DIT synchronisiert und auf dem aktuellen Stand. 
  • Ein DIT vereinfacht die Arbeit von Servicetechnikern, Serviceingenieuren, After-Sales-Manager und Instandhaltern. 
  • Digitale Zwillinge sind die Voraussetzung, um die Vorteile von Industrie 4.0 nutzen zu können – etwa mit Predictive Maintenance. 
  • Damit sie vom Digital Information Twin profitieren, benötigen Hersteller passende Softwarelösungen. 

Was versteht man unter dem Digital Information Twin?

„Digital Information Twin“ (DIT) ist ein Buzzword, das Maschinen- und Anlagenbauer sich merken sollten – denn ihm gehört die Zukunft im Bereich Instandhaltung und After-Sales & Service. Doch was verbirgt sich hinter dem Begriff? Und was unterscheidet den DIT von einem digitalen Zwilling? 

 

Definition des Digital Information Twin 

Der DIT ist eine zentrale Plattform, auf der technische Informationen und Serviceinformationen über ein Produkt, eine Maschine oder eine Anlage gespeichert sind. Die Daten sind im DIT gebündelt und synchron – so entsteht ein integriertes Informationsmanagement, das verschiedene Funktionen erfüllt. 

Das System:

  • bildet den realen Zustand des Produkts nach dem Verkauf und im Einsatz ab 
  • rückt den gesamten Produktlebenszyklus in den Fokus 
  • dient als Lebenszyklus-Protokoll eines Produkts oder einer Maschine 
  • enthält Informationen über Ersatzteile, Dokumentationen und Anleitungen für eine bestimmte Maschine oder Variante 
  • macht jede benötigte Information schnell zugänglich 

Wie der Digital Information Twin bereits bei Innio zum Einsatz kommt

Zum Projektbericht

Abgrenzung zum digitalen Zwilling

Der Digital Information Twin ist nicht mit dem Digital Twin oder Digital Engineering Twin zu verwechseln. Zwar stellen beide Zwillinge das virtuelle Abbild eines realen Objekts dar. Allerdings unterscheiden sie sich in ihrem Nutzen. 

Im Gegensatz zum Digital Engineering Twin simuliert ein DIT keine Produkteigenschaften oder -funktionen, sondern enthält umfassende (Service-)Informationen. Dazu gehören Bedienungs- oder Serviceanleitungen oder Ersatzteillisten. Die Informationen sind produktbezogen und individuell gespeichert und bilden die spezifische Konfiguration eines Produktes oder einer Maschine ab.  

Ziel eines DIT ist es, den Benutzern mithilfe von gespeicherten Produktdokumenten ein umfassendes, digitales Verständnis über Produkte, Maschinen und Anlagen zu bieten. Deshalb ist er ein Must-Have für den After-Sales & Service – er liefert wertvolle Informationen für gezielte und effiziente Wartungs- und Instandhaltungsmaßnahmen.  

Ein Engineering Twin ermöglicht den Echtzeitaustausch digitaler Informationen zwischen Maschinen über das IoT. Im Gegensatz dazu liefert ein Informations-Zwilling wertvolle und vielfältige Daten für den Menschen. Daraus entsteht ein detailliertes Bild einer Maschine, auf dessen Basis beispielsweise Servicetechniker und After-Sales-Manager fundierte Entscheidungen treffen können. 

Wer profitiert von dem DIT?

Von den Vorteilen eines DIT profitieren vor allem Hersteller und Betreiber von Maschinen und Anlagen, die im After-Sales und Service komplexe und umfangreiche Informationen rund um ihre Produkte aufbereiten und bereitstellen müssen. Denn sie stehen heute vor großen Herausforderungen: 

  • hoher manueller Aufwand für die Erstellung und Bereitstellung von Ersatzteilkatalogen oder Dokumentation im After-Sales & Service 
  • hohe Kosten aufgrund von Fehlbedienungen oder durch die Fehlidentifikation bei Ersatzteilen, da relevante Informationen nicht durchgängig verfügbar sind 
  • hohe Auslastung der IT-Abteilungen, durch die sich die Einführung neuer Softwarelösungen verzögert  
  • hohe Anforderungen an das Skill-Level der Mitarbeiter, da viele Informationen auf unterschiedliche Systeme wie ERP, CAD, CRM, PLM verstreut sind 

Kostenloses Whitepaper

Warum Hersteller einen Digital Information Twin brauchen

Definition, Aufbau und Umsetzung eines DIT im After-Sales-Service

 

Whitepaper herunterladen

Welche Ziele erreichen Unternehmen mit einem DIT?

Ein Digital Information Twin bietet Unternehmen die Möglichkeit, diese und ähnliche Herausforderungen mit wenig Aufwand zu meistern. Hersteller, die für die Vernetzung ihrer Serviceinformationen einen DIT nutzen, sichern sich viele Vorteile: 

  • wesentliche Kostenersparnis durch reduzierte Stillstand-, Recherche- und Wartezeiten  
  • mehr Zeit für das Kerngeschäft, da die Suche nach notwendigen Informationen entfällt 
  • gesteigerte Kundenzufriedenheit durch hohe First-Time-Fix-Rate 
  • geringer Aufwand für die Digitalisierung von Serviceprozessen 
  • 24/7-Bereitstellung passgenauer Informationen für Partner und Kunden im In- und Ausland
  • besseres Verständnis für Servicekennzahlen 
  • umfassende Informationsgrundlage für Optimierungen im After-Sales & Service 
  • Basis für die Entwicklung neuer kundenzentrierter Serviceangebote und damit mehr Wettbewerbsfähigkeit  
  • verbesserte Profitabilität und höherer Umsatz im After-Sales und im Service durch optimiertes Ersatzteilgeschäft 

Welchen Nutzen bringt ein Digital Information Twin für den After-Sales & Service?

Serviceingenieure, Servicetechniker, After-Sales-Manager, Instandhalter und andere DIT-Nutzer müssen Ersatzteilinformationen und Wartungsanleitungen nicht mehr umständlich suchen. Stattdessen steht ihnen in der DIT-Plattform eine intuitive Benutzeroberfläche zur Verfügung – darüber sind alle Informationen für ihre Wartungsaufgaben schnell digital zugänglich

Mit einem Digital Information Twin generieren Maschinenbauer ein intelligentes Datenmodell ihrer Maschinen und Anlagen. Dabei werden die Daten nicht nur virtuell dargestellt, sondern so aufbereitet und vernetzt, dass ein echter Mehrwert für den Nutzer entsteht. 

Der Digital Information Twin dient als Service-Informationssystem, das Field Service Engineers stets über Änderungen an Arbeitsabläufen informiert. Anhand von Anleitungen ermöglicht es außerdem eine Schätzung darüber, wie lange der Einsatz und der Maschinenstillstand dauern werden. 

Ein Digital Information Twin macht Unternehmen fit für die Zukunft 

Die Verknüpfung von DIT und künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) schafft zukünftiges Potenzial für weitere Vorteile: 

  • KI ist in der Lage, drohende Fehlfunktionen von Komponenten wie Ventilen in der Anlage eines Kunden frühzeitig vorauszusagen.  
  • Sie erkennt außerdem, dass in der Anlage weitere Ventile des gleichen Typs und mit ähnlicher Betriebsdauer verbaut sind.  
  • Das System kann dem Servicetechniker und dem After-Sales-Manager auf Basis dieser Informationen vorschlagen, dem Kunden die passenden Ersatzteile vorausschauend zum Kauf anzubieten. 

PODCAST

31.10.22

Vernetzung von After-Sales &
Technischer Dokumenation - was bringt das?

 

Jetzt reinhören

Die Vorteile eines Digital Information Twin auf einen Blick

  • Unternehmen mit einem DIT steigern die Effizienz ihrer Service- und Wartungsprozesse, etwa durch Predictive Maintenance 
  • reduzieren die Gesamtkosten ihres Service- und Produktlebenszyklus-Managements 
  • erhalten eine bessere Übersicht und ein umfassendes Verständnis über Maschinen, Anlagen und Produkte 
  • erhöhen den Daten- und Erkenntnisaustausch zwischen ihren Abteilungen  

Übertragen auf den Alltag im After-Sales & Service bietet der DIT folgende Vorteile: 

  • Effizientes Datenmanagement:
    Sollten Anpassungen in Dokumentationen nötig sein, können diese als Paket aktualisiert und automatisiert an alle Maschinenstandorte ausgespielt werden. 
  • Effizientes Flottenmanagement:
    Für Unternehmen, die Services für Fahrzeugflotten anbieten, reduziert der zentrale Datenzugriff auf Flottenebene den Aufwand manueller Datenerfassung – das erhöht die Mobilität und ermöglicht automatisiertes Reporting. 
  • Geringere Wartungskosten:
    Fernwartung und Predictive Maintenance erlauben eine vorausschauende Planung der Servicekapazitäten und senken Anfahrtskosten für das Servicepersonal. 
  • Höhere Zuverlässigkeit:
    Je vorausschauender und genauer Wartung und Instandhaltung geplant werden können, desto schneller ist eine Wiederinbetriebnahme von Maschinen und Anlagen möglich – das reduziert ungeplante Stillstandzeiten. 
  • Weniger Reparaturen:
    Eine 24/7-Fernüberwachung reduziert die Anzahl notwendiger Reparaturen und gibt Serviceexperten mehr Zeit, um ihren Kunden erstklassigen Service anzubieten und ihnen zu besseren Ergebnissen zu verhelfen. 

Wie nutzen Unternehmen den Digital Information Twin?

Voraussetzungen für den DIT-Einsatz sind eine Plattform als „Core Infrastructure“, also als Single Source of Truth, für alle Servicedaten sowie angebundene Anwendungen. Diese sogenannten Capabilities umfassen Werkzeuge, mit denen Daten und Zusammenhänge erschaffen, verwaltet und genutzt werden. Bei Maschinen- und Anlagenbauern sind das etwa Dokumentationssysteme, Ersatzteilkatalog-Generatoren, Webshops oder Kundenplattformen.  

Mit der richtigen Software stellen Unternehmen eine hohe Digital Twin Performance sicher. Die Grundlagen dafür können sie schon heute schaffen, indem sie ihre Prozesse digitalisieren und servicerelevante Informationen in einem zentralen System aggregieren.  

 

Grundlagen für die Schaffung eines Digital Information Twins 

  • integrierte Datenverarbeitung 
  • konsistente Stammdaten 
  • umfassende Datenstrukturen und ausreichend große Datenmengen 
  • aussagekräftige Datenmodelle 
  • smarte Vernetzung aller Informationen 
  • zentrales System mit flexiblen Schnittstellen zur Aggregation der Daten und Informationen 

 

Quanos Service Solutions bietet alle notwendigen Tools, um den Digital Information Twin zu verwirklichen. Professionelle Software-Lösungen heben das Potenzial technischer Informationen und geben Maschinen- und Anlagenbauern 360° Kontrolle über ihre Inhalte.  

Kennen Sie bereits unseren Quanos InfoTwin?

Nein?

Dann bitte unbedingt hier entlang

Warum lohnt sich der Einsatz eines DIT?

Der Digital Information Twin spart Unternehmen nicht nur Zeit und Kosten und optimiert ihre Serviceprozesse. Er ist außerdem die Antwort auf die wichtigsten Trends im After-Sales & Service: 

  • Digitalisierung des Service:
    Maschinen- und Anlagenbauer benötigen für jede Stufe der Digitalisierung die passenden Werkzeuge – angefangen bei digitalen Ersatzteilkatalogen bis hin zum Digital Information Twin. Die vollständige Servicedigitalisierung gelingt folglich nur mit einem DIT. 
  • Service 4.0:
    Die Evolution vom analogen Service hin zu Service 4.0 erfordert digitale Geschäftsmodelle. Der Verkauf von Maschinen und Anlagen tritt in den Hintergrund – der Fokus liegt auf ihrer Performance. Mit dem Digital Information Twin stellen Maschinenbauer die Leistungsfähigkeit ihrer Produkte sicher. 
  • Steigende Kundenerwartungen:
    Anlagenbetreiber sind kostensensibel wie nie zuvor – und erwarten individuellen und schnellen Service. Um diese Erwartungen zu erfüllen, benötigen Support- und Servicemitarbeiter eine intelligente, digitale Plattform, die ihnen die Informationen dafür liefert. 
  • Digitale Transformation:
    Der digitale Wandel stellt Wartung und Instandhaltung vor spezielle Herausforderungen. Das IoT liefert wertvolle Daten für optimierten Service – allerdings müssen diese zunächst zentral gebündelt und ausgewertet werden. Eine Aufgabe, die der Digital Information Twin meistert. 
  • Demografischer Wandel:
    Die Gesellschaft wird immer älter – das heißt auch, dass immer mehr Wissen in Unternehmen verlorengeht. Um das Know-how von Serviceexperten für nachfolgende Generationen von Technikern zu sichern, sind Lösungen wie der DIT gefragt. 

Bleiben Sie am Puls der Zeit

Fazit: Mit dem DIT heute die Basis für zukünftigen Erfolg schaffen

Auf diese und weitere Entwicklungen sind Maschinen- und Anlagenbauer mit Quanos vorbereitet. Und zwar in jeder Digitalisierungsstufe: Quanos bietet modulare Funktionen – im Bundle genutzt schaffen sie eine 360° Lösung für alle Herausforderungen im modernen Service. Einzelne Features lösen dagegen gezielt akute Probleme in der Anfangsphase der Transformation.  

Egal, ob Sie schon heute einen Digital Information Twin nutzen oder zunächst einzelne Bereiche Ihres After-Sales digitalisieren möchten. Sie erhalten in jedem Fall eine zukunftsfähige Single Source of Truth, die flexibel und aufwärtskompatibel ist. 

Quanos bietet Ihnen zusammengefasst die folgenden Vorteile:  

  • Kostenreduzierung durch automatischen Import und Vernetzung relevanter Daten 
  • Zeitersparnis bei der Einführung durch die Möglichkeit, die Lösung als SaaS-Modell in der Quanos Cloud zu nutzen 
  • einfache Durchführung von Servicetätigkeiten durch den Zugriff auf alle notwendigen Informationen 
  • Auffinden aller gewünschten Informationen mit nur wenigen Klicks 
  • hohe Datensicherheit durch individuelle Zugriffssteuerung für einzelne Anwender 

Sie haben Fragen zum Digital Information Twin?

Wir unterstützen Sie mit unserem Wissen und begleiten die Transformation Ihrer Serviceinformationen zum Digital Information Twin.  

 

Kontakt aufnehmen