Key Info at a Glance

  • Service 4.0 marks the future of the service activities of machinery and plant manufacturers and is the basis for competitive business models.  
     
  • Networked service data enables manufacturers and producers to get even more out of the sale and operation of machinery and plants.  
     
  • Thanks to digitalization, Service 4.0 is now within reach for industrial companies of any size. Getting started is very simple with the right software and experienced partners, and delivers immediate benefits. 

What is Service 4.0?

The concept of Service 4.0 is based on Industry 4.0 – just like with the fourth industrial revolution, the focus of “servitization” is the digitalization of the range of services from machinery and plant manufacturers. 

 

Three areas are key here: 

  • Processes: Workflows in aftersales, sales, and related departments are networked and optimized through Service 4.0. 
     
  • Technologies: With big data, the Internet of Things, and digital software tools such as the software solutions from Quanos, manufacturers are able to expand their range of services and offer their customers added value. 
     
  • Business models: With optimized processes and the right technologies, machinery manufacturers are laying the foundation for new business models, thereby securing previously untapped turnover potentials. 

 

In order to be ready for the future, organizations should be laying the foundation for the jump to the fourth, fully digitalized service level now. This will enable them to use their resources more efficiently, react more quickly to trends, and inspire their customers throughout the entire product life cycle. 

What is a service information system? 

A spare parts catalog system such as Quanos SIS.one increases the efficiency of your service activities. The software brings together parts information and technical documents in one system, giving manufacturers and operators of machinery and plants a central tool to digitalize and optimize their services. 

Why is Service 4.0 a Strategic Must in Machinery Construction?

These days, no machinery and plant construction company can afford to let turnover potentials go to waste. The management board must respond to rising costs, economic crises, climate change, and the shortage of skilled workers in order to steer their organization safely into the future.  

This will not be achieved through the sale of machinery, devices, and plants alone. To secure cash flow and company growth in a sustainable manner, the digital revolution in the service sector must be completed now. 

Free white paper 

Why service is the new product

Arguments and solutions for Service 4.0 

 Download white paper 

Benefits of Service 4.0 at a glance 

There is immense potential to be exploited in the fourth evolution stage of the service business: 

  • New sources of revenue and high operating margins  
     
  • Differentiation from the competition 
     
  • Reinforcing the customer relationship and long-term customer loyalty
     
  • Increased efficiency in aftersales and other departments 
     
  • Planning security throughout the entire product life cycle 

 

Advantages for manufacturing companies 

It's not only manufacturers who benefit from the advantages of Service 4.0, but also manufacturing companies. Find out how manufacturers can optimize their spare parts storage with Service 4.0 and reduce the risk of machine downtimes. 

Read more in our blog:

From CapEx to OpEx - Part 2: Optimising spare parts storage

Manufacturing companies depend on their machinery and are faced with an unsolvable dilemma.

read more

From 0 to Service 4.0: The Service Levels in Machinery Construction

Previously, many machine constructors worked according to the principle “out of sight, out of mind”. With the sale of a product, the sales department had fulfilled its main task and had injected fresh turnover into the company.  

But for some time now, the new machines business has no longer been a turnover driver. The service of machinery and plant manufacturers must therefore go through four development stages if they want to remain competitive and solvent. 

More and more companies have recognized that spare parts and additional services, such as the maintenance of equipment, offer new turnover potentials. As a result of progressive digitalization, they now have the opportunity to optimize their service and generate new income, based on data. The aim is to offer customers a comprehensive service package throughout the entire life cycle of a product – namely Service 4.0. 

 

What progress has your company made towards Service 4.0?

Use our checklist to find out: 

How digitalized is my service? 

Service 4.0 in Practice: Added Value for Manufacturers and Operators 

Do you know what service level your company is at and you now want your service to reach the top level? In order for you to be able to plan concrete actions, below we present some of the key areas of application of the digitalized service business. 

The operator model is a megatrend in plant and machinery construction. The product is moving into the background and is giving way to the service. Manufacturers are no longer selling their machinery and plants but rather their output. Customers are saving investment costs and are instead paying regularly for machine performance. The manufacturer takes care of maintenance and operation. 

Our Blog series “From CapEx to OpEx” provides you with more information about this. 

Supported by digital tools and systems, service technicians and customer service employees can rectify faults in plants without having to put up with long and costly journeys. In Service 4.0, even complex problems can be solved by remote support. Manufacturers therefore become indispensable to their customers. 

Read our blog to discover the advantages that remote services offers aftersales.  

It is not just industry and service that go through evolution stages but also the maintenance pyramid. The route to the primary goal – financially optimized maintenance – goes via predictive maintenance. This proactive maintenance process is based on the permanent monitoring and evaluation of machinery and process data. This allows future maintenance requirements to be predicted so that maintenance processes can be optimized. 

Find out all there is to know about the fundamentals of predictive maintenance and broaden your knowledge using our free white paper on this subject.  

B2C customers are used to shopping independently online and being able to make simple changes themselves. More and more B2B providers also rely on online portals with self-service options that reduce the workload of customer service. The digital Service 4.0 self-service portal forms the central interface between the company and customer. 

Find out how to use a B2B customer portal successfully

Companies produce vast quantities of data every day. Using sensors and artificial intelligence, the glut of big data is transformed into a source of valuable information for service technicians and customers who then use this to order the right spare parts at the right time and reduce downtimes. This results in cost savings for manufacturers and plant operators.  

Read about how data becomes the driver for intelligent maintenance.

In addition to service portals, text-based dialog systems, also known as chatbots, reduce the workload of aftersales and customer support teams. They can respond to simple requests for spare parts and help customers find information. The prerequisite for digital assistance systems is the same as for all other Service 4.0 applications: a networked database. 

The digital information twin is the epitome of Service 4.0. It forms the central platform for all technical information and service information about a product, machine, or plant. Machine constructors are therefore provided with an intelligent data model of their machinery and plants, which service technicians and customers can use intuitively. 

When the right software is used, the DIT forms a future-proof single source of truth that is flexible and upward compatible.

Free white paper 

Get to know the digital information twin

All the facts and benefits at a glance 

Read white paper

Implementing Service 4.0 – with Our Software Solutions

Regardless of which level of service digitalization your company is on, if you want to reach the top evolution stage, then software tools are a must-have.  

We have developed a series of software solutions for this. The quickest way to get started is with a digital spare parts catalog. It's quick and easy to create using our Quanos SIS.one spare parts catalog system and can be published across different media. Quanos SIS.one ensures that processes and data are transported from the analog world into the digital world and can be gradually expanded to form an all-in-one service information system.  

Do you want to create the basis for new business models? Then the Quanos InfoTwin is the right platform for you. The new, modular cloud solution easily and intelligently networks information from technical documentation, spare parts management, and other sources. Quanos InfoTwin consolidates disparate information to form a digital information twin, creating the basis for new business models and smart services.  

Take Your Service to the Next Level 

With our experience in plant and machinery construction, and our intuitive software solutions, we will guide you through your service transformation. The security of your data and your individual goals are at the top of our list. We look forward to hearing from you: 

 

Contact us

Das Wichtigste auf einen Blick

  • Service 4.0 bezeichnet die Zukunft der Serviceaktivitäten von Maschinen- und Anlagenbauern und ist die Basis für wettbewerbsfähige Geschäftsmodelle.
     
  • Hersteller und Produzenten können mit vernetzten Servicedaten noch mehr aus dem Verkauf und dem Betrieb von Maschinen und Anlagen herausholen.
     
  • Dank der Digitalisierung rückt Service 4.0 für Industrieunternehmen jeder Größe in greifbare Nähe. Der Einstieg gelingt mit der richtigen Software und erfahrenen Partnern ganz einfach und bringt sofort Vorteile. 

Was ist Service 4.0?

Der Begriff Service 4.0 ist angelehnt an Industrie 4.0 – genau wie bei der vierten industriellen Revolution steht im Fokus der „Servitization“ die Digitalisierung des Serviceangebots von Maschinen- und Anlagenbauern. 
 

Zentral sind dabei drei Bereiche: 

  • Prozesse: Workflows im After Sales, im Vertrieb und in angrenzenden Abteilungen werden durch Service 4.0 vernetzt und optimiert.
     
  • Technologien: Mit Big Data, dem Internet of Things und digitalen Software-Tools wie den Softwarelösungen von Quanos sind Hersteller in der Lage, ihr Serviceangebot auszuweiten und ihren Kunden einen Mehrwert zu bieten. 
     
  • Geschäftsmodelle: Mit optimierten Prozessen und den richtigen Technologien legen Maschinebauer den Grundstein für neue Geschäftsmodelle und sichern sich damit bisher ungenutzte Umsatzpotenziale. 

 

Um sich zukunftsfähig aufzustellen, sollten Organisationen jetzt die Basis für den Sprung auf die vierte, voll digitalisierte Servicestufe legen. So sind sie in der Lage, ihre Ressourcen effizienter einzusetzen, schneller auf Trends zu reagieren und ihre Kunden über den gesamten Produktlebenszyklus zu begeistern. 

Was ist ein Service-Informationssystem?

Ein Ersatzteilkatalog-System wie Quanos SIS.one steigert die Effizienz Ihrer Serviceaktivitäten. Die Software bündelt Teileinformationen und Technische Dokumente in einem System. Damit erhalten Hersteller und Betreiber von Maschinen und Anlagen ein zentrales Tool zur Digitalisierung und Optimierung ihres Services.

Warum ist Service 4.0 ein strategisches Muss im Maschinenbau?

Kein Unternehmen im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau kann es sich heute noch leisten, Umsatzpotenziale ungenutzt zu lassen. Die Geschäftsführung muss auf steigende Kosten, Wirtschaftskrisen, Klimawandel und Fachkräftemangel reagieren, um ihre Organisation sicher in die Zukunft zu führen.  

Mit dem Verkauf von Maschinen, Geräten und Anlagen allein wird das nicht gelingen. Um Cashflow und Unternehmenswachstum nachhaltig zu sichern, muss jetzt der digitale Wandel im Service absolviert werden. 

Kostenloses Whitepaper

Warum Service das neue Produkt ist

Argumente und Lösungsansätze für Service 4.0 

Whitepaper lesen

Vorteile von Service 4.0 auf einen Blick 

In der vierten Evolutionsstufe des Servicegeschäfts liegt ungeheures Potenzial, das es jetzt zu heben gilt: 

  • neue Umsatzquellen und hohe operative Margen
     
  • Differenzierung gegenüber dem Wettbewerb
     
  • Stärkung der Kundenbeziehung und langfristige Kundenbindung
     
  • erhöhte Effizienz im After Sales und in anderen Abteilungen
     
  • Planungssicherheit über den gesamten Produktlebenszyklus hinweg 

 

Vorteile für produzierende Unternehmen 

Von den Service-4.0-Vorteilen profitieren nicht nur Hersteller, sondern auch produzierende Unternehmen. Erfahren Sie, wie Produzenten dank Service 4.0 ihre Ersatzteillagerung optimieren und das Risiko von Maschinenstillständen reduzieren können. 

Mehr dazu in unserem Blog:

Von CapEx zu OpEx - Teil 2: Ersatzteillagerung optimieren

Produzierende Unternehmen sind auf ihren Maschinenpark angewiesen und stehen dabei vor einem unlösbaren Dilemma.

weiterlesen

Von 0 auf Service 4.0: Die Servicestufen im Maschinenbau  

Früher handelten viele Maschinenbauer nach dem Prinzip „Aus den Augen, aus dem Sinn“. Mit dem Verkauf eines Produkts hatte der Vertrieb seine Hauptaufgabe erfüllt und dem Unternehmen frischen Umsatz eingebracht.  

Doch das Neumaschinengeschäft ist längst kein Umsatztreiber mehr. Der Service von Maschinen- und Anlagenbauern muss deshalb vier Entwicklungsstufen durchlaufen, wenn diese wettbewerbsfähig und liquide bleiben wollen. 

Immer mehr Unternehmen haben erkannt, dass Ersatzteile und zusätzliche Services wie die Wartung von Anlagen neue Umsatzpotenziale bieten. Mit der fortschreitenden Digitalisierung haben sie nun die Möglichkeit, ihren Service zu optimieren und neue Einnahmen zu generieren, etwa auf Basis von Daten. Das Ziel ist es, den Kunden ein umfassendes Servicepaket über den gesamten Lebenszyklus eines Produkts hinweg zu bieten – den Service 4.0. 

 

Wo steht Ihr Unternehmen auf dem Weg zu Service 4.0?

Finden Sie es heraus – mit unserer Checkliste: 

Wie digitalisiert ist mein Service?

Service 4.0 in der Praxis

Mehrwert für Hersteller und Betreiber 

Sie kennen die Servicestufe Ihres Unternehmens und haben das Ziel, nun die höchste Stufe mit Ihrem Service zu erreichen? Damit Sie konkrete Maßnahmen planen können, stellen wir Ihnen im Folgenden einige der wichtigsten Anwendungsbereiche des digitalisierten Servicegeschäfts vor. 

Das Betreibermodell ist ein Megatrend im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau. Das Produkt tritt in den Hintergrund und überlässt dem Service das Feld. Hersteller verkaufen nicht mehr ihre Maschinen und Anlagen, sondern deren Output. Die Kunden sparen Investitionskosten und zahlen stattdessen regelmäßig für die Maschinenleistung. Um Wartung und Betrieb kümmert sich der Hersteller. 

Unsere Blogserie „Von Capex zu Opex“ liefert Ihnen mehr Informationen dazu. 

Unterstützt von digitalen Tools und Systemen können Servicetechniker und Kundendienstmitarbeiter Störfälle in Anlagen beheben, ohne lange und teure Anfahrtswege in Kauf nehmen zu müssen. Im Service 4.0 lassen sich selbst komplexe Probleme durch Remote Support beheben. Damit werden Hersteller zu unverzichtbaren Partnern für ihre Kunden. 

Lesen Sie in unserem Blog, welche Vorteile Remote Services für den After Sales bieten.  

Nicht nur Industrie und Service durchlaufen Evolutionsstufen, sondern auch die Wartungspyramide. Der Weg zum höchsten Ziel – der finanzoptimierten Wartung – führt über Predictive Maintenance. Dieser proaktive Wartungsvorgang basiert auf einer permanenten Überwachung und Auswertung von Maschinen- und Prozessdaten. So lässt sich zukünftiger Wartungsbedarf vorhersagen, um Wartungsprozesse zu optimieren. 

Erfahren Sie alles zu den Grundlagen von Predictive Maintenance und vertiefen Sie Ihr Wissen mit unserem kostenlosen Whitepaper zum Thema.  

B2C-Kunden sind es gewohnt, Onlinekäufe selbstständig zu tätigen und einfache Änderungen selbst vornehmen zu können. Auch immer mehr B2B-Anbieter setzen auf Onlineportale mit Self-Service-Möglichkeiten, die den Kundenservice entlasten. Das digitale Self-Serviceportal bildet im Service 4.0 die zentrale Schnittstelle zwischen Unternehmen und Kunden. 

Erfahren Sie, wie Sie ein B2B-Kundenportal erfolgreich nutzen

Unternehmen produzieren täglich unzählige Daten. Mit Sensoren und Künstlicher Intelligenz wird aus der Big-Data-Flut eine Quelle an wertvollen Informationen für Servicetechniker und Kunden, die damit rechtzeitig die richtigen Ersatzteile bestellen und Stillstandzeiten reduzieren können. Das führt zu Kostenersparnissen bei Herstellern und bei Anlagenbetreibern.  

Lesen Sie, wie aus Daten die Treiber für die intelligente Wartung werden.  

Neben Serviceportalen entlasten textbasierte Dialogsysteme, auch bekannt als Chatbots, den After Sales und den Kundensupport. Sie können einfache Anfragen zu Ersatzteilen beantworten und Kunden bei der Suche nach Informationen helfen. Die Voraussetzung für digitale Assistenzsysteme ist wie für alle anderen Service-4.0-Anwendungen eine vernetzte Datenbasis. 

Sehen Sie sich das Webinar „Technische Doku per Sprachassistent“ an, um mehr über Chatbots im Maschinenbau zu erfahren.

Der Digital Information Twin ist der Inbegriff von Service 4.0. Er bildet die zentrale Plattform für alle technischen Informationen und Serviceinformationen über ein Produkt, eine Maschine oder eine Anlage. Maschinenbauer erhalten so ein intelligentes Datenmodell ihrer Maschinen und Anlagen, das Servicetechniker und Kunden intuitiv nutzen können. 

Mit der richtigen Software umgesetzt, bildet der DIT eine zukunftsfähige Single Source of Truth, die flexibel und aufwärtskompatibel ist.  

Kostenloses Whitepaper 

Lernen Sie den Digital Information Twin kennen

Alle Fakten und Vorteile im Überblick 

Jetzt kostenfrei herunterladen

Service 4.0 jetzt umsetzen – mit unseren Softwarelösungen

Egal, auf welcher Stufe der Servicedigitalisierung sich Ihr Unternehmen befindet: Um die höchste Evolutionsstufe zu erreichen, ist der Einsatz von Software-Tools unverzichtbar.  

Dafür haben wir eine Reihe an Softwarelösungen entwickelt. Den schnellsten Einstieg ermöglicht ein digitaler Ersatzteilkatalog. Diesen können Sie mit unserem Ersatzteilkatalog Quanos SIS.one einfach und schnell erstellen und in verschiedenen Medien publizieren. Quanos SIS.one sorgt dafür, dass Prozesse und Daten aus der analogen in die digitale Welt gehoben werden und lässt sich Schritt für Schritt zu einem All-In-One Service-Informationssystem erweitern.  

Sie möchten die Basis für neue Geschäftsmodelle schaffen? Dann ist Quanos InfoTwin die richtige Plattform für Sie. Die neue, modulare Cloudlösung vernetzt einfach und smart Informationen aus Technischer Dokumentation, Ersatzteilmanagement und anderen Quellen. Quanos InfoTwin führt verstreute Informationen zu einem Digital Information Twin zusammen und schafft so die Basis für neue Geschäftsmodelle und Smart Services.  

So heben Sie Ihren Service auf das nächste Level 

Mit unserer Erfahrung im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau und unseren intuitiven Softwarelösungen begleiten wir Ihre Servicetransformation. Die Sicherheit Ihrer Daten und Ihre individuellen Ziele stehen dabei für uns an erster Stelle. Sprechen Sie uns an: 

 

Termin vereinbaren